Living an Amazing Life: Why I am Thankful

I don’t have tons of money laying around, I don’t eat lobster or expensive food nor do I wear nice and lavish clothing, but I really have a great life; this doesn’t mean I’m content with the ways thing are as I will always strive to improve, but in many ways I’m grateful for everything so far. So to be blunt, there are so many people who would love to do what I can do, but cannot. 

I always remember this from a podcast, I think stated by P.J. O’Rouke:

I have a 13 year old at home, and she is always saying, “That’s not fair.” When she says that, I say, “Honey, you’re cute; that’s not fair. Your family is pretty well off; that’s not fair. You were born in America; that’s not fair. Honey, you had better pray to God that things don’t start getting fair for you.”

I remind myself about this everyday. I could be tanning leather hides, digging in underground mines for precious rare earth metals, starving in the middle of the desert, born into a family that has AIDs, finding refuge from political upheaval or in middle of a war that has no meaning. But, that is not the case. I’m here in the US, chasing a dream that many people wish they could and many who are. I have many people to thank, my parents, my family, loved and cherished ones, the United States. 

But that’s where I stop, I don’t believe that being thankful my entire life is where I find meaning. In essence, people as creatures, species need others to say that ‘you’ exist. And just as I am thankful to those who have helped me, I want to others to feel the same; maybe not towards me, but toward the things I can create.

We all strive to make things bigger than ourselves, music, art, businesses, stories, wars and families and leave a legacy behind. No matter what religion you believe in, the ‘you’ that you are now, only has one life on this Earth and to live every second to its fullest, doing something you love, is an opportunity afforded to the few. So to those who can, remember what an amazing life you have and how it can always improve. Not just improve for you, but for those around you and those who are six degrees away and beyond. 

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

