Learning Django and Python: Part 1

There’s a lot of things that I’ve delayed in life and one of them is learning Python. It’s in everything I use and I think its about time I settle down and crack some code out with it. Django then is the perfect web framework mate to accompany my learning of python. What worries me a bit is that I should probably be a bit more comfortable w/ Python before touching Django, but how can I resist?

Initial Thoughts : Python | that is even before “Hello World”

  • Python is OOP supports procedural, so transitioning to it from Java/C shouldn’t be too much of a hassle.
  • Good: SQLite is built into Python, which I’m comfortable with already.
  • IDLE and console are lighter, but less powerful than Eclipse : \ Tradeoff
  • ByteCode and PVM, just like Java!
  • Tons of Frozen Binary options : ) YES
  • Garbage Collection in Python = code faster;
  • All in all reminds me of my old calculator programming days. (though not many similarities in terms of actual code, syntax)
  • Fairly simple object serialization

Initial Thoughts: Django | Before Installing/Using

  • Has great Database Abstraction. There’s nothing like messing up MySQL code. This is great and will plug a lot of injection attacks. Now just gotta worry about cross site scripting.. etc..
  • The website has so much great info on the framework, since it takes you to the docs directly. It will take me a while to get through all of it… PART 2 COMING SOON.
Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

